The music of Boston-based composer and trumpet player, Stephen Ryan Jackson (b.1992) examines and recreates seemingly indescribable sensations. His music often draws inspiration from careful observation of everyday phenomena; stretching, distorting, and reexamining them in order to create works that avoid the concept of narrative and allow audience’s to reevaluate and find beauty in aspects of daily life that they might overlook. Jackson composes in a variety of mediums including works for orchestra, wind ensemble, chamber, and vocal music, often interweaving electronic elements with acoustic instruments. Jackson works extensively as a collaborator, working closely with soloists and chamber ensembles in order to create dialogues between composer, performer, and audience. Among these collaborators are soprano Rose Hegele, flutist Jacob Wright and chamber ensembles Still Life Collective, Elevator Music, Trio Mirage, and Trio Minerva. 

Jackson has received commissions from The Choral Project, Hardin-Simmons Concert Band, The Ball State Concert Band and the Texas New Music Ensemble, among others. His music has been featured at the Oregon Bach Festival Composers Symposium, the University of Nebraska Lincoln Chamber Music Festival, the University Nebraska Kearney New Music Festival and has had premiers across the U.S. His current projects include collaborations with Boston-based soprano Rose Hegele on a new work for voice and chamber ensemble, a new work for percussion and electronics written for percussionist Austin Lemmons, as well as a chamber opera based on the diary entries of the infamous Donner Party’s Tamsen Donner. 

Jackson is currently pursuing a Masters in Music Composition at New England Conservatory studying with Michael Gandolfi, John Mallia and Katarina Miljkovic. He earned his undergraduate degrees in Music Theory/Composition and Trumpet Performance from Hardin-Simmons University in May of 2016, studying composition with Dr. Bernard Scherr and Dr. Jeffrey Cottrell and trumpet with Dr. Leigh-Anne Hunsaker, Dr. Mark Wilcox and Dr. Keith Johnson.